CALIFORNIA POLYTECHNIC STATE UNIVERSITY San Luis Obispo, California 93407 ACADEMIC SENATE

MINUTES OF The Academic Senate Executive Committee Tuesday, June 10, 2008 01-409, 3:10–5:00 p.m.

I. Minutes: The minutes of May 6 were approved as presented. The May 13 minutes were approved with the following correction:

Provost's Report: Durgin reported that all but three of the 200 students in the incoming mechanical engineering class, are <u>already</u> qualified to go directly into calculus in the fall. In addition, Cal Poly is continuing with the hiring of all tenure track faculty and advancement office staff <u>associated with generation of external funds</u>. All other positions require prior approval.

- II. Communications and Announcements: none.
- III. Reports:
 - A. Academic Senate Chair: none.
 - B. President's Office: none.
 - C. Provost: Durgin announced for the record, that he would like to thank Bruno Giberti for his superb leadership and convey what a pleasure it has been working with him.
 - D. Statewide Senate: none.
 - E. CFA Campus President: none.
 - F. ASI Representative: none.
 - G. Caucus Chairs: none.
 - H. Other: none.
- IV. Consent Agenda: none.
- V. Business Items:
 - A. Academic Senate and University committee vacancies: The following appointments were made:

DISTINGUISHED TEACHING AWARD COMMITTEE	
College of Architecture and Environmental Design	Michael Lucas
College of Agriculture, Food and Environmental Science	Tom Ruehr
College of Engineering	Phillip Nico

College of Liberal Arts College of Science and Math <u>M/S/P to approve.</u> Michael Fahs Matt Moelter

B. Academic Senate vacancies: The following senators were appointed:

Jeff Danes, OCOB for 2008-2010 Rich Saenz, CSM for 2008-2010 Marisa Ramirez, PCS for 2008-2010 Dustin Stegner, CLA FQ replacement for Katie McCormick <u>M/S/P to approve.</u> A complete list of all 2008-2009 Senators is available at: <<u>http://www.calpoly.edu/~acadsen/senators.html></u>

- C. Discussion/appointment of committee chairs to Fairness Board, Instruction Committee, Research Committee, and Sustainability Committee. Giberti discussed the possible charges and committee chairs for 2008-2009. John Soares, Chair-elect, will make the appointment and approve the allocation of release time.
- VI. Discussion Items:
 - A. Distinguished Teaching Award Committee proposed process for 2008-2009. After much discussion, it was decided that this issue will return as a business item at the first Executive Committee meeting of 2008-2009.
- VII. Adjournment: The meeting was adjourned at 4:30 p.m.

Submitted by,

Gladys Gregory Academic Senate