CALIFORNIA POLYTECHNIC STATE UNIVERSITY San Luis Obispo, California 93407 ACADEMIC SENATE

MINUTES OF

The Academic Senate Executive Committee Tuesday, April 8, 2008 – continuation of April 1, 2008 01-409, 3:10–5:00 p.m.

Preparatory: The meeting was called to order at 3:15 p.m.

- I. Minutes: none.
- II. Communications and Announcements: none.
- III. Reports:

Provost: Durgin stated that the state of the budget is still of critical and important concern for Cal Poly and the CSU. The protection under academic freedom applies to provosts and anyone who enjoys retreat rights. Giberti has suggested that all policies, older than 6 years, be reconsidered for completeness and appropriateness. In the College of Engineering, the development of curriculum is deemed as scholarly work. The Senate has resolved to support the academic freedom of the faculty as stated in the AAUP.

- IV. Consent Agenda: none.
- V. Business Items:
 - B. Academic Senate and University committee vacancies: The following appointments were made:

College of Business

Distinguished Scholarship Award Colette Frayne, Management Area
Instruction Committee Kevin Lertwachara, Management Area

College of Engineering

Instruction Committee Xiaomin Jin, Electrical Engineering

College of Science and Mathematics

Sustainability Committee Robert Echols, Physics

UNIVERSITY COMMITTEES

Academic Advising Council

Cynthia Moyer, NRM

Academic Council for International Programs

Lemas Kossa, Social Sa

Academic Council for International Programs
Accommodation Review Board

James Keese, Social Sciences
Kevin Traylor, Kinesiology

ASI Board of Directors

Jim LoCascio, Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Athletics Governing Board Katie McCormick, Art & Design Cal Poly Housing Corporation Board Jonathan Reich, Architecture

Campus Safety and Risk Management Committee

Jerome Breitenbach, Electrical Engineering

CAP Ad Hoc Editorial Coordination and Review Committee

Bryan Mealy, Electrical Engineering

Committee on University Citizenship Saeed Niku, Mechanical Engineering

Camille O'Bryant, Kinesiology

Deans' Admissions Advisory Committee Dean Arakaki, Electrical Engineering

Disability Access and Compliance Committee John Harris, NRM
Health Services Oversight Committee Samuel Frame, Statistics

Information Resource Management Policy and Planning Committee

James Sena, Management Area Intellectual Property Review Committee Bing Anderson, Finance Area

Bruce Golden, Dairy Sciences
Clark Turner, Computer Science

Student Health Advisory Committee Samuel Frame, Statistics Students with Disabilities Advisory Committee Kevin Taylor, Kinesiology

Sustainability Advisory Committee Revin Taylor, Kinesiology

Bryan Mealy, Electrical Engineering

University Diversity Enhancement Council Bruno Giberti, Architecture

University Union Advisory Board Brian Kennelly, Modern Languages & Lit.

C. Approval of caucus chairs for 2008-2009: The following were approved:

College of Agriculture, Food and Environmental Sciences

Dave Hannings, Horticulture & Crop Science

Professional Consultative Services

Johanna Brown, Library

College of Science and Mathematics

Jonathan Shapiro, Mathematics

College of Education

Shirley Magnusson, Teacher Education

College of Engineering

Stephen Klisch, Mechanical Engineering

E. Approval of assigned time for 2008-2009:

Giberti recommended that the Executive Committee authorize the allocation of release time but that it be granted based on the senate chair's recommendation and on negotiations with the committee chairs. M/S/P motion to allocate release time with the premise that next year chair will negotiate with committee chairs and allocate as needed with the Executive Committee's approval.

- F. Resolution on WU grade (Instruction Committee): Schaffner presented the resolution, which requests that AS-449-95/IC Resolution on "U" Grades be repealed and that all grade definitions be disseminated quarterly and be easily available to all faculty. M/S/P to agendize the resolution.
- G. Resolution on Changes to the Bylaws of the Academic Senate (Executive Committee): Giberti presented the resolution, which requests the approval of changes to the *Bylaws of the Academic Senate*. M/S/P to agendize the resolution as follows.

<u>page</u>	section section	<u>change recommended</u>
10	IV.A.1.f	"and there is not time to elect a replacement" removed because of
		redundancy. Procedures for replacing a CSU academic senator are stated in VII.B.5.
10	IV.A.1.g	"The Chair shall also transmit all official actions of the Academic Senate to the President of the University" removed because this is a function of
		the Senate office, not a duty of the Chair.

- 10 IV.A.4 Past Chair, if available, becomes the parliamentarian for Executive Committee and Senate meeting.
- H. Resolution on Faculty Objections to Proposed Project to Implement Engineering Program in Jubail, Saudi Arabia: Hood presented the resolution, which requests that the Academic Senate of Cal Poly recommend to the President and Provost that Cal Poly not proceed with this project. M/S/F to agendize the resolution.

VI. Discussion Items:

- A. Additional Bylaw changes for possible inclusion to the "Resolution on Changes to the *Bylaws of the Academic Senate*": <u>Due to lack of time, this item was not discussed.</u>
- VII. Adjournment: The meeting was adjourned at 5:00 p.m.

Submitted by,

Gladys Gregory Academic Senate