## ACADEMIC SENATE – Distinguished Scholarship Awards Committee

Spring 2022 Due: Friday, June 17, 2022

MEMBERS		
Name	College/Unit	
Ameri, Alex	ASI	
Benson, Bridget	CENG	
Cabugos, Leyla	PCS	
Cobb, Richard	CAFES	
Evenden, Marirose	ASI	
Hagobian, Todd	Admin	
Hamilton, Steve	ОСОВ	
Kolegraff, Stacy	CAED	
Tejani, James	CLA	
Tomanek, Lars (CH)	CSM	

CHARGES		
Charge	Complete?	Status/Notes
Evaluate candidates and recommend recipients for the Distinguished Scholarship Award.	X	The committee completed the review of all candidates that submitted the requested materials, identified a list of finalists and reviewed additional material submitted by the finalists to identify three awardees, which we submitted to the Academic Senate Office.
Review and modify committee procedures and bylaws as needed. <b>Ongoing</b>		

## NOTES:

The DSA committee notified everyone who was nominated and eligible in early December to submit a short essay and a CV. The committee reviewed these files during two meetings to identify 9 finalists. Finalist were asked to submit a 3-page essay describing the impact of their research on their academic community and on Cal Poly students. The committee reviewed these files in two meetings in spring. We were committed to inclusivity and fairness in evaluating scholarship across varied and widely distinct disciplines. We also took into consideration the time at Cal Poly to establish and maintain a creative professional program in the respective disciplines. We realized that evidence for scholarship and creative activity presents itself in many forms at Cal Poly, something the committee tried to represent in its selection.

The work of the committee was interrupted by a medical emergency (to the Chair) and continued by Dr. Hagobian. This delayed the review of the committee's procedures and bylaws during this academic year. The committee will continue to review the procedures and bylaws as soon as possible during the next academic year.