

California Polytechnic State University San Luis Obispo, CA 93407–0402 Chemistry and Biochemistry Department (805) 756–2693 • Fax (805) 756–5500

June 20, 2014

To: Academic Senate

From: Nanine Van Draanen, Professor and Chair, Department of Chemistry Chair, Distinguished Teaching Award Committee, 2014-15

Re: Report for Spring Quarter, 2015 Distinguished Teaching Awards Committee of the Academic Senate

The DTA Committee met Friday, May 8, 2015 to determine the winners for the 2014-15 Distinguished Teaching Awards. In attendance were Nanine Van Draanen (chair), Linda Vanasupa, Lee Burgunder, Shelley Hurt, Gabriella Bragoli, and Sevelyn Vanronk. Umut Toker was unable to attend. The committee discussed each candidate at length and ultimately decided unanimously to award Todd Grundmeier (Mathematics); Sandra Stannard (Architecture); and Dustin Stegner (English). The recommendation from the committee was forwarded to the Academic Senate on May 11. The Provost's Office requested a brief explanation of the decisions, which was supplied on May 12. The awards were announced to the winners on May 14.

This quarter constituted my last term on the Distinguished Teaching Award Committee. The group discussed a suitable chair for next year and nominated Linda Vanasupa for the position.