

California Polytechnic State University San Luis Obispo, CA 93407–0402 Chemistry and Biochemistry Department (805) 756–2693 • Fax (805) 756–5500

June 10, 2012

To: Academic Senate

From: Nanine Van Draanen, Professor and Chair, Department of Chemistry Chair, Distinguished Teaching Award Committee, 2012-2013

Re: Report for Spring Quarter, 2013 Distinguished Teaching Awards Committee of the Academic Senate

DTA Committee members continued their classroom visitations of the finalists for the first five weeks of spring quarter. The committee met May 9th, with all members of the committee in attendance, to determine the winners. The committee was uniformly impressed with the quality of this year's finalists and spent considerable time selecting the final awardees.

The DTA recipients for 2012-13 were: Seth Bush (CSM, CHEM), Jaymie Nolan (CAFES, ASCI), and Dylan Retsek (CSM, MATH).

Senate Chair Steven Rein was notified via memo of the committee's recommendation. The recommendation was forwarded to the President, who made the notification to the awardees. The committee felt it was important to thank the remaining finalists, so Nanine Van Draanen contacted each of the other finalists thanking them for participating.

1 he California State University - Bakersfield + Channel Islands + Chico + Donaingue: Hills + Last Bay + Fresno + Fullerton + Humboldt + Long Beach + Los Angeles + Maritime Academy + Monterey Bay + Northridge + Ponona + Sacramenta + San Bernardinu + San Diego + San Transisco + San Luis Oboșo + San Marcos + Sonoma + Stanislaus